The El Paso Zoological Society is the support organization for the El Paso Zoo.

Founded in 1963, the Zoological Society is a 501 c (3) non-profit organization governed by a volunteer Board of Directors and supported by local donors. It is not a part of the City of El Paso, but a separate legal entity. Donations are tax-deductible in whole or in part.


The El Paso Zoological Society is a vital partner to the El Paso Zoo, essential to its growth and success, advocating for the Zoo in the Community, and providing capital fundraising, operational support, membership and volunteer services.


The El Paso Zoological Society and the El Paso Zoo embrace a strong partnership in building a premier recreational destination in our City. We work closely to develop meaningful programs and engaging exhibits that emphasize conservation and an appreciation for wildlife and healthy ecosystems.

The El Paso Zoo creates memories, reinforces values, and ignites passion for nature and life that elevate the imagination, bringing the world to west Texas and allowing over 350,000 visitors per year to experience animals from around the globe. The Zoo reinforces students’ classroom lessons, provides families with a venue for exploration and wonder, and grows an understanding of our ability to conserve locally for global impact.

Supporting the El Paso Zoo through the Zoological Society strengthens our community’s number-one attraction and enriches the essence of this great city.


Jose ‘Pepe’ De Alba – President

Pam Agullo – President elect/ Marketing

Frank Nugent, Jr. – Vice President

Matt C. Kerr – Treasurer

Yvonne Ojeda – Secretary

Angelica Rosales – Special Events

Liz Fowlkes – HR Committee

Elena Tejeda and Elizabeth Margo – Membership

Wendy Lanski – Board Development/Nominating

Richard Behrenhausen

Mark Bracken

Sarah Byrne

Tom Giba

Michaela Grambling

Tasha Hopper

Tami Keating

Ronald (Ronnie) Lowenfield

Patty Russell

James Schichtl

Joseph Montisano – Zoo Director


Renee Neuert – Chief Executive Officer

Terri Wyatt – Chief Development Officer

Beatriz Uranga – Chief Operations Officer

Amanda Fonseca – Programming Administrator

Ms. Toni Lopez – Adult Volunteer Manager and Zoo Society Camp Counselor

Olivia Christine Siqueiros – Youth Volunteer Manager

Alejandra Aburto – Membership Sales Coordinator